Port Allegany School District

BOARD OF SCHOOL DIRECTORS Reorganization Meeting

December 2, 2024 High School Library 7:00 o'clock p.m.

Minutes

Superintendent Newell called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. in the high school library with a moment of silence and the flag salute. Mrs. Veilleux called the roll.

Board Present: Mr. Nathan Burgett, Mr. Eric Button, Mr. Christopher Ernst, Mrs. Erica Petruzzi, Mr. Jason Stake, Mr. Elizabeth Stauffer, Mr. Donald Tanner, Mr. Nicholas Valentine, Mrs. Ink Young and Mrs. Paula Newell.

Election of Temporary President

Mrs. Newell took the position of temporary president.

Election of President

Mrs. Newell opened the floor to receive nominations for President of the Board. Mr. Stake nominated Mrs. Erica Petruzzi and Mr. Burgett seconded. Mr. Ernst nominated Ink Young and Mrs. Stauffer seconded. Mrs. Newell moved to close nominations and Mr. Button seconded. Mrs. Newell took votes for each president and Mrs. Ink Young won with a vote of 5 to 4 over Mrs. Petruzzi. Mrs. Newell declared Mrs. Ink Young duly elected President and she assumed the Chair.

Election of Vice President

Mrs. Young opened the floor to receive nominations for Vice President. Mr. Burgett nominated Jason Stake to be reelected and Mrs. Petruzzi seconded. Mrs. Young asked if there were any other nominations, Mrs. Beth Stauffer nominated Mr. Don Tanner and Mr. Ernst seconded. Mrs. Young moved to close nominations and Mr. Stake seconded. The vote was then brought forward to the board with 5 votes for Mr. Stake and 4 votes for Mr. Tanner. Mrs. Young declared Jason Stake duly elected Vice President of the Board of School Directors.

Election of Treasurer

Mrs. Young opened the floor to receive nominations for Treasurer. Mr. Stake nominated Mr. Tanner to be reelected and Mr. Burgett seconded. Mrs. Young asked if there were any other nominations, there were none. Mrs. Young moved to close nominations and Mr. Stake seconded. The vote was then brought forward to the board with 8 votes for Mr. Tanner. Mrs. Young declared Don Tanner duly elected Treasurer of the Board of School Directors.

There were no comments related to agenda items, no comments relating to Title I and Title II and no comments relating to the District Health and Safety Plan approved by the board on July 26, 2021 and most recently amended on August 14, 2023.

Superintendent's Report

Mr. David DiTanna of Buffamante, Whipple, Buttafaro, PC spoke remotely about the findings of the 2023-2024 Independent Auditor's Report to the board . Mr. DiTanna provided individual paper copies for the board during the meeting.

Mrs. Newell provided a 2025 Board Meeting Calendar. The board will need to approve a 2025 meeting calendar and have it posted publicly.

The Act 1 Resolution was provided and the board will need to determine if it intends to adhere to the taxing limitations of Act I.

Minutes of the Preceding Meetings were provided: November 4, 2024 Committee of the Whole Meeting and November 11, 2024 Regular Meeting. Motion: J. Stake; Second: N. Burgett. The motion was carried unanimously with Mr. Valentine abstaining.

Thursday's Events for the football game - December 5, 2025 - school will be cancelled, the team leaves Wednesday morning and will travel to Penn State to practice on the practice field and then on to Cumberland Valley for the game on Thursday afternoon. The band and cheer bus will leave on Thursday morning. We have enough students and faculty for a student bus and a few community members heading up the fan bus which are both to leave Thursday morning.

<u>Committee Appointments</u> - Discussion (President will appoint in January.) The current listing is attached to the board packet. The Committee Appointments are as follows: IU Career and Technical Center Advisory Board (1 member), PA School Boards Association/Legislative Representative (1 member), Act 93 Committee (4 members), Negotiations Committee - Professional Staff (4 members), Negotiations Committee - Support Staff (4 members), Health & Safety Plan Review Committee (4 members), Transportation Committee - (2 members), Comprehensive Plan Committee (2 members), Wellness Committee (1 member), Facilities Committee (4 members) and Academic Improvement Committee (Standing Committee - 3 members).

Personnel

Approved the Personal Action Report (PAR). Motion: J. Stake; Second: N. Burgett. The motion was carried unanimously with Mr. Valentine abstaining.

<u>Finance</u>

Accepted the independent Auditor's Report for the year ended June 30, 2024 as prepared by Buffamante, Whipple, Buttafaro, PC. Motion: N. Burgett; Second: J. Stake. The motion was carried unanimously.

Adopted Resolution 2025-1 electing not to increase the tax rate above the index of 6.2% to support the 2025-2026 budget. Motion: J. Stake; Second: E. Petruzzi. The motion was carried unanimously.

Appointed G.H. Harris Associates, Inc. as the 2024 delinquent per capita tax collector at no cost to the district. Motion: J. Stake; Second: N. Burgett. The motion was carried unanimously.

Board

Adopted the 2025 board meeting calendar. Motion: N. Valentine; Second: N. Burgett. The motion was carried unanimously.

Approved the minutes of the November 4, 2024 Committee of the Whole Meeting and the November 11, 2024 Regular Meeting with changes to be made on the attendees of the November 11th meeting. Motion: J. Stake; Second: C. Ernst. The motion was carried unanimously.

Designated <u>The Bradford Era</u> as the newspaper of general circulation in accordance with Policy 005. Motion: D. Tanner; Second: E. Button. The motion was carried unanimously.

Appointed Mr. Adam Moate Primary Delegate and the Borough Manager as First Alternate Delegate to serve as district representatives to the Tax Collection Committee (TCC) in accordance with Act 32. Motion: J. Stake; Second: N. Valentine. The motion was carried unanimously.

Approval of Port Allegany Tax Application for EMS/Fire Tax credits with corrections made by Mrs. Newell. Motion: J. Stake; Second: N. Burgett. The motion was carried unanimously.

Executive Session

The board met in executive session at 8:15pm.

Adjournment

Motion: J. Stake; Second: N. Valentine. The motion was carried unanimously. Mrs. Young adjourned the meeting at 8:30 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

MELISSA VEILLEUX Secretary to the Board of School Directors